Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
November 2, 2017


Click here to open the Rose Bowletin - Week 10


At the start of the college football season, the first College Football Playoff rankings that would be released on October 31 seemed so far away. But we made it. We're here. Welcome to November.


Around the country, the leaves have changed, there is a chill in the air, and the water cooler chatter is about how Georgia jumped over Alabama to be ranked No. 1 in the CFP Poll, among a litany of college football related talking points.


There is a lot of football left to be played, but the first CFP Poll is always full of interesting tidbits of information.


First, Alabama had been No. 1 all year, but Georgia has had more impressive wins this season, giving them the top spot. Next, the CFP selection committee seems to favor good wins over bad losses. This is evident in Notre Dame and Clemson earning the final two spots in the top four, as both the Irish and Tigers have three wins over top-25 teams. The committee also proved that head-to-head matchups matter when they placed Oklahoma in the five-spot, Ohio State behind the Sooners at No. 6 and Penn State No. 7. Oklahoma beat the Buckeyes back in week two, then Ohio State beat Penn State last week. Finally, a message was sent to all teams with CFP hopes: play a tougher schedule. Both Wisconsin and Miami are undefeated, but checked-in at No. 9 and No. 10, respectively. Both the Badgers and Hurricanes have yet to play a ranked team this season and neither school scheduled a power-five conference opponent in the non-conference schedule.


There is one thing the selection committee can count on: a lot of ranking discrepancies will play out on their own in the remaining games this season. Georgia and Alabama are on a crash course to meet in the SEC Championship. Notre Dame has two ranked opponents left on its schedule. Oklahoma has to play No. 11 Oklahoma State this weekend and No. 8 TCU the following weekend.


Now, before we get too far ahead of ourselves, let's take a look at the games tonight and tomorrow leading up to another great weekend of college football:


Thursday, November 2

Northern Illinois at Toledo, 6 pm ET/3 pm PT, ESPNU

Ball State at Eastern Michigan, 7pm ET/4 pm PT, CBSSN

Navy at Temple, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, ESPN

Idaho at Troy, 9:15 pm ET/6:15 pm PT, ESPNU

Friday, November 3

Marshall at Florida Atlantic, 6 pm ET/3 pm PT, CBSSN

Brown at Yale, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, NBCSN

Memphis at Tulsa, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, ESPN2

UCLA at Utah, 9:30 pm ET/6:30 pm PT, FS1


If you enjoy the Rose Bowletin, but don't receive it regularly, send an email to to be added to the weekly list!


Be sure to follow the Rose Bowl Game on Twitter or Facebook and visit for updates this weekend and throughout the entire 2017 season.  



Doug Ingels
Media Coordinator, Rose Bowl Game

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

3/27/2018 » 4/4/2018
Membership Interviews