Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In
October 19, 2017

Rose Bowletin - Week  8


If we learned anything over the last week of college football, it's that no one is safe from an upset. 


Six days ago, we watched the No. 2 Clemson Tigers and No. 8 Washington State Cougars fall on national TV. Superstitious people could have blamed it on the fact that it was Friday the 13th, but we soon learned that they wouldn't be the only ones to lose. On Saturday, five other top-25 teams went down, including a couple more top-10 teams, No. 4 Washington and No. 10 Auburn.


A loss doesn't knock a team out of the running for the college football playoff. In fact, the 10 of the 12 CFP teams have had a loss. But the margin of error for teams with a loss is slim to none. In the last 27 years, only six two-loss teams have finished in the top-4 of the AP Poll heading into bowl season. 


There always seems to be one week each season that is full of upsets. It sends a shockwave across college football and reminds every team that one small lapse in concentration can cost them a game, a chance at the playoff or even a bowl eligible season. 


After so many upsets last week, expect the remaining top teams to have a little extra focus in week eight. But also expect the underdogs to have an extra pep in their step, last week also made them believe anything is possible.


Get your weekend off to a good start with a little college football fix tonight and tomorrow. Here's who, when and where to watch:


Thursday, October 19

Louisiana Lafayette at Arkansas State, 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, ESPNU

Memphis at Houston, 8 pm ET/5 pm PT, ESPN 


Friday, October 20

Western Kentucky at Old Dominion, 6 pm ET/3 pm PT, CBSSN

Marshall at Middle Tennessee, 7 pm ET/4 pm PT, ESPN2

Princeton at Harvard, 7:30 pm ET/4:30 pm PT, NBCSN

Air Force at Nevada, 9:30 pm ET/6:30 pm PT, CBSSN

Colorado State at New Mexico, 10:15 pm ET/7:15 pm PT, ESPN2 

If you enjoy the Rose Bowletin, but don't receive it regularly, send an email to to be added to the weekly list!


Be sure to follow the Rose Bowl Game on Twitter or Facebook and visit for updates this weekend and throughout the entire 2017 season.  



Doug Ingels
Media Coordinator, Rose Bowl Game

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

3/27/2018 » 4/4/2018
Membership Interviews